|Is Kosher Halaal for Muslims?
Allah Says: “Today are (all) things good and pure made lawful unto you. The food of the People of the Book is lawful unto you and yours is lawful unto them” (The Quraan, al-An’am, V. 5).
The word “food” referred to in this verse, are the animals slaughtered by the People of the book (Christians and Jews). However , this verse is interwoven with another Qur’aanic verse : “Eat not of (meats) on which Allah’s name has not been pronounced” (al-An’am, 121).
“Forbidden to you are: dead meat, the flesh of swine, and that on which has been invoked the name of other than Allah, that which has been killed by strangling, or by a violent blow, or by a headlong fall, or by being gored to death, that which has been partly eaten by a wild animal, unless you are able to slaughter it” (Qur’an, 5.3).
Concluding this discussion, it is understood that the slaughtered animal of the People of the Book (Christians and Jews) is only permissible when the name of Allah (God) was taken at the time of slaughtering the animal (or any other word which is used in their language to denote Allah SWT)an d the slaughtering itself done in the proper manner. Reciting the name of Allah at the time of slaughter. Nowadays, Christians no longer recite the name of God at the time of slaughter and various methods of slaughter are adopted (see verse above) which do not comply with Islamic rites hence supermarket meats, fast-food takeaway meats of Christians would not be permissible. However, if Kosher meat is slaughtered correctly and is according to the system of Islamic Slaughter rites then this meat would in itself be permissible for Muslims.
If you so wish, you may contact the Foodguide again for clarification or otherwise.
Differences and similarities between Kosher and Halaal.
Kosher Labelling and how it works
Is Kosher Halaal? (explains the varying points of jurisprudence between Muslim and Jews)
(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide