IslamQA

Can Medication in Capsule Form be Consumed?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DaruliftaaZambia.com

Question

Is it permissible to take medication in capsule form? I have been told that capsules are haraam therefore we have to open them and then take the medication.

Jazakallah

 

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Capsules are generally made of gelatine or plant derivatives.[1] If the gelatine is sourced from Harām animals, the gelatine-based capsules will be Harām. Furthermore, it is difficult to tell the difference between gelatine based and plant based capsules. Hence, all medication in capsule form should be avoided.

As far as opening the capsule and consuming its content is concerned, we are not in a position to advise on this as it is a pharmaceutical and medical matter which can only be elucidated by its respective personnel.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Checked and Approved by,

Mufti Nabeel Valli.

Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah

Lusaka, Zambia

www.daruliftaazambia.com

__________________________

[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capsule_(pharmacy)


This answer was collected from Daruliftaazambia.com, which serves as a gateway to Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah – Lusaka, Zambia.

Find more answers indexed from: DaruliftaaZambia.com
Read more answers with similar topics: