IslamQA.org Logo

Are Feroglobin Capsules Halal or Haraam

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham

Answered by: Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Question:

Feroglobin capsules are haram or halal. The following are the ingredients:

Sustained Release pellet Binders (Sucrose Magnesium Silicate Potato Starch Hydrooxypropylmethylcellulose, Shellac) Ferrous Fumarate, Pharmaceutical Grade Gelatin ( Capsule Shell ) Zinc Sulphate Vitamin B6 (as HCI) Copper Sulphate vitamin B12 ( as Cyanocobalamin Prep.[Carrier: Dicalcium Phosphate]), Folacin ( Folic Acid).

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

Answer:

The ingredients you mentioned in the Feroglobin capsules are halal. However, some Feroglobin capsules have bovine gelatine as their ingredient.

Regarding gelatine, while some scholars claim that tabdīl al-māhiyyah (altering of the essence) takes place when making gelatine, the majority do not find that it has. They, therefore, find the default ruling on the consumption of gelatine to be permissible, only if it is made from a ḥalāl source (for example gelatine from fish or gelatine from a cow that was Islamically slaughtered), and not from a ḥarām source (for example gelatin from pigs) or a doubtful source like gelatine from a cow where the method of slaughter is unknown.

Only Allah knows best

Written by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

This answer was collected from DarulIftaBirmingham.co.uk, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.

Find more answers indexed from: DarulIftaBirmingham
Read more answers with similar topics:
Search
Related QA

Pin It on Pinterest