IslamQA.org Logo

Beef gelatine capsules

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Fatwa.org.au
I heard that we are allowed to take beef gelatine capsules. Is this correct?

Answer:

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

If the capsule is made from non-halal beef gelatine, taking such a capsule will not be permissible in normal circumstances according to the majority of the contemporary scholars. It will only be permissible to take such a capsule with the following three conditions: 1) there are no alternatives available; 2) it is reasonably known that the medicine will be effective; 3) an upright, god-fearing and expert Muslim doctor has advised the use of the capsule.

(Raddul Muhtaar: 1/210 Saeed)

And Allah knows best.

Mufti Faizal Riza
25/9/2011

This answer was collected from Fatwa.org.au, which is connected to Darul Ifta Australia, based in Melbourne, Australia.
It is operated by Mufti Faizal Riza, a student of Mufti Ebrahim Desai from South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from: Fatwa.org.au
Read more answers with similar topics:
Ad by Muslim Ad Network
Search
Related QA

Pin It on Pinterest