IslamQA.org Logo

Gelatine in Sweets

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Askmufti.co.za

Q: We recently viewed a show on 3rd Degree where haraam meat was being sold as halaal. MJC was involved in giving halaal certification. They were not aware of the above occurrence. They then revoked the certification. Many of the sweets that contain gelatine are certified through MJC. are these sweets permissible to consume?

A: Gelatine manufactured from animals that were not slaughtered according to Shari’ah or from pig is Haraam. The gelatine manufactured in non-Muslim countries is derived from either pig, which is called PORCINE GELATINE or from the hides and hooves of Haraam cattle, which is termed BOVINE GELATIN. Both types are Haraam. Fish gelatine is Halaal but this is rarely used and it will be clearly stated on the packaging. The bovine and porcine gelatine are Haraam.

Gelatine manufactured in Muslim countries, such as Pakistan or Malaysia, will be Halaal because such gelatine is derived from cattle that were slaughtered according to Shari’ah. Find out which gelatine is being used in those sweets.

Mufti Siraj Desai

This answer was collected from AskMufti.co.za, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Siraj Desai of Darul-Uloom Abubakr, South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from: Askmufti.co.za
Read more answers with similar topics:
Ad by Muslim Ad Network
Search
Related QA

Pin It on Pinterest