Is Pepsin and Lipase okay to consume if they are integrated into a product?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Arij Canada

Is Pepsin and Lipase okay to consume if they are integrated into a product?


As Salaamu Alaikum wa Rahmatullaah wa Barakatuh.

After consulting SANHA (South African National Halaal Authority), a body which is dedicated to researching ingredients, in collaboration with what they state, we forward you their statement and also hold the same opinion:

Pepsin is usually obtained from pig stomachs. It may also come from bovine stomachs or may be produced microbiologically. Lipase may also be sourced from animals or microbiologically. SANHA will only accept enzymes from animal sources if the animal is Halaal slaughtered. Microbial enzymes will be accepted if the media (or feed) that the microbes are grown in is Halaal suitable. If the media is mutanajjis (impure) but not porcine, it can be accepted as long as the enzyme is purified according to the shariah method of cleaning.

To add to the above statement, the best method of finding out where the pepsin or lipase is derived from, one should verify by contacting the company listed on the product. They will be able to tell you where it is sourced from.


Muhammad Z Panchbhaya

This Q&A was collected from the official web portal of Academy of Research in Islamic Jurisprudence (Arij) from Canada, which was headed by Mufti Ibrahim Kureshi and Mufti Zakariyya Panchbhaya. As the original website is no longer accessible, we have provided a source link of each answer to the archive copy from Way Back Machine.

Find more answers indexed from: Arij Canada
Read more answers with similar topics:
Related QA

Pin It on Pinterest