IslamQA

Are Bovine Collagen Supplements Halal?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham

Answered by: Maulana Irfan Ali

Question

Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh,

Are bovine collagen supplements halal?

Collagen peptide supplements are typically derived from bovine connective tissue or fish, from marine collagen.


بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم


In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful 

Answer

Wa Alaikum Salam Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

The ruling regarding food is that the product which is consumed contains no haram substance. Certain foods cannot be ruled halal until a full description of its ingredients is given. Upon research it has come to light there are many products which consist of the same name as to some there are halal ingredients and to some haram. Therefore it makes it difficult to differentiate between which product is asked regarding.

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Irfan Ali

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham


This answer was collected from DarulIftaBirmingham.co.uk, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.

Find more answers indexed from: DarulIftaBirmingham
Read more answers with similar topics:
Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week



We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!