Is milk with Vitamin D Halal?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by


In USA we get whole milk with Vitamin D with or with out a sign of Kosher.

Since I did not find Kosher sigh on milk product of Walmart I asked about the source of Vitamin D added in milk.

So their answer is as follows.

“Let me tell you that according to our records this vitamin D comes from a cow and this is Kosher.”

All the best.


Paul P.

I am worried because we can not get Raw milk here. So, please clear our doubt whether we can use this product of milk in this situation.



[i] Attached below are the emails exchanged between the Mustafti and Walmart

From: Walmart Customer Care <[email protected]>

Sent: Monday, February 20, 2017 8:03 PM

To: [email protected]

Subject: A response to your inquiry [Whole milk vitamin d]

Recently you requested personal assistance from Customer Care.

Below is our response and a summary of your request.

Reference#: 170219-021596

Response email (02/20/2017 02:03 PM)

Hi Mohammed,

Thank you for your reply,

Unfortunately we are not able to confirm that information, since the item is sold and distributed directly by Sam’s Club we recommend yo to contact them in order to verify this information.

If you need additional assistance with your order you can let us know and we’ll be happy to help you.


Ingrid F Customer Care

Customer email (02/20/2017 01:26 PM)

Reference#: 170219-021596

Do you mean extra Vitamin D adding from bone of cow.

Response email (02/20/2017 09:07 AM)

Hi Mohammed,

Thanks a lot for contacting us back regarding your question.

Let me tell you that according to our records this vitamin D comes from a cow and this is Kosher.

All the best.


Paul P. Customer Care

Customer email (02/20/2017 08:44 AM)

Reference#: 170219-021596

Please see the product by opening above web site and let me know

“Please inform me about vitamin d , whether it came from animal source or soy through ? If it come from animal , is it kosher/ halal source”



Response email (02/19/2017 09:29 PM)

Hi Mohammed,

In this case, please send me the link to the item you are interested in, so I can properly check it and let you know.

Best regards.

Taylor M. Customer Care

Customer email (02/19/2017 09:24 PM)

Please inform me about vitamin d , whether it came from animal source or soy through ? If it come from animal , is it kosher/ halal source



Sent from my iPhone


In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Milk with Vitamin D which is sold in stores in USA is halal to consume. [1][2][3][4]

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Abdullah ibn Mohammed Aijaz

Student Darul Iftaa
Baltimore, USA 

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.


النتف في الفتاوى للسغدي (1/ 233)

ما يحل من الميتة: قال ويحل من الميتة خمسة عشر شيئا…. 1 الصوف 2 والوبر 3 والشعر 4

 بدائع الصنائع – ث (1/ 63)

 وَأَمَّا الْأَجْزَاءُ التي لَا دَمَ فيها فَإِنْ كانت صُلْبَةً كَالْقَرْنِ وَالْعَظْمِ وَالسِّنِّ وَالْحَافِرِ وَالْخُفِّ وَالظِّلْفِ وَالشَّعْرِ وَالصُّوفِ وَالْعَصَبِ والأنفحة الصُّلْبَةِ فَلَيْسَتْ بِنَجِسَةٍ عِنْدَ أَصْحَابِنَا 

المحيط البرهاني للإمام برهان الدين ابن مازة (2/ 207)

قال أصحابنا رحمهم الله بأن صوف الحيوانات الميتة وعصبها ووبرها وشعرها وعظمها طاهر. ألا ترى أنه يكون على العظم دسم سواء كان مأكول اللحم أو غير مأكول اللحم حتى تجوز الصلاة مع هذه الأشياء عندنا جز قبل الموت أو بعده

الفتاوى الهندية (21/ 198)

وَأَمَّا شَعْرُ الْمَيْتَةِ وَعَظْمُهَا وَصُوفُهَا وَقَرْنُهَا فَلَا بَأْسَ بِالِانْتِفَاعِ بِهَا وَبَيْعُ ذَلِكَ كُلِّهِ جَائِزٌ

غمز عيون البصائر في شرح الأشباه والنظائر (5/ 473)

 وَثَمَانِيَةٌ مِنْ الْمَيِّتِ يَجُوزُ الِانْتِفَاعُ بِهَا الْقَرْنُ وَالظِّلْفُ وَالْعَصَبُ وَالصُّوفُ وَالْوَبَرُ وَالشَّعْرُ وَالرِّيشُ وَالْعَظْمُ سَوَاءٌ كَانَ مَأْكُولَ اللَّحْمِ أَوْ غَيْرَهُ 


Vitamins in Fortified Milk:

Milk from buffalo, camel, cow and goat is Halal by itself however milk in the US and Canada from cows and goats must be fortified with vitamins A and D by law. California is the only state where milk can be sold without vitamin fortification.

What are the source of Vitamins A and D:

Vitamin A for milk fortification is produced commercially by reacting calcium carbonate with water and then esterifies with palmitic acid (source can be from a plant or an animal or a synthetic).

Vitamin D3 is produced from sheep’s wool lanolin (Halal).

Presence of an emulsifier in Vitamin Mixes:

A fat based emulsifier Polysorbate 80 is added to the vitamin mix for milk fortification s as a processing aid ingredient to help vitamins to be mix and distributed evenly with milk so that it is satisfy the law requirement of a specific amount of vitamins per quart of milk. This emulsifier is not mentioned on the ingredient declaration on the milk containers because it is considered a processing aid. This emulsifier should not be from pork fat. It has to be from plant fat such as soy bean.

Hidden or processing aid ingredients in vitamin mix for fortified milk which are not reported on milk bottle:

Polysorbate 80 is an emulsifier help in keeping to together the fat and water in milk.

Propylene Glycol is used to prevent freezing of vitamins mix.

Sodium Benzoate is used as a preservative for vitamins mix.

Vitamins mix used in fortifying the milk is kosher certified and Halal (MCG is used to Halal certify the vitamins mix for milk)

Every dairy in USA and Canada is used kosher certified and Halal vitamins mix for milk. So every brand of milk in USA and Canada is Halal.

This answer was collected from, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Ebrahim Desai from South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from:
Read more answers with similar topics:
Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week

We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!