Eating the meat of the Ahle Kitaab

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by

Q: I live in Denmark and it is very difficult to find halal food here. My question is that can we eat the food of Ahle kitaab, like chicken, goat, etc. which is actually halal in Islam but Christians have cut them?

The question is that, is fish halal in all contexts?


A: Statistics show that most people who declare themselves as Christians are only Christians by name and do not believe in Christianity. Hence, it will be difficult to verify whether a person is a genuine Christian or not. Further, another requirement is that tasmiyah needs to be read at the time of slaughter, and to verify this as well is quite difficult. Hence, Muslims should refrain from such meat.


And Allah Ta’ala (الله تعالى) knows best.


Answered by:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)

This answer was collected from, where the questions have been answered by Mufti Zakaria Makada (Hafizahullah), who is currently a senior lecturer in the science of Hadith and Fiqh at Madrasah Ta’leemuddeen, Isipingo Beach, South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from:
Read more answers with similar topics:
Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week

We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!