Can I use a medicine which contains gelatine?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by

I have skin problem specially in my face for many years , and finally the doctor give the final therapy called ACCUTANE . Only for that patient which has severe skin problem ; but i found out there is GELATINE AS AN INGREDIENT. Is it permissible for me to use this?


Accutane, also known as Isotretinoin is a vitamin A derivative, belonging to a class of medications called retinoids.  Retinoids are usually used to treat skin problems. Accutane is used to treat severe types of acne where other medications with less potential side effects have failed to help. It helps to reduce sebum production and, in many cases, can produce remission of the acne condition.[1]


Accutane contains a gelatine pill coating that contains glycerine.[2]  Gelatine has been considered harām according to the majority of scholars unless it is from a vegetarian (or halal-slaughtered) source. 


The Fuqaha (jurists) state that it will only be permissible to use medication with harām ingredients when a sound doctor gives advice that this is the only medication which will be effective and there is no other alternative available.[3]


In your case, if you are advised by a doctor to use Accutane, it will be permissible to use it.


We make duā’ Allah Ta’āla grants you a speedy recovery.  Amīn.



And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Mawlana Faraz Ibn Adam,
Student Darul Iftaa



Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.


[3]  ففي المحيط البرهاني

فإن الاستشفاء بالمحرم إنما لا يجوز إذا لم يعلم أن فيه شفاءً؛ أما إذا علم أن فيه شفاء، وليس له دواء آخر غيره فيجوز الاستشفاء به (ج 7 ص 82 إدارة القرآن)


وكذا في إمداد الأحكام ج 4 ص 319 مكتبة دار العلوم كراتشي




Original Source Link

This answer was collected from, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Ebrahim Desai from South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from:
Read more answers with similar topics: