Home » Hanafi Fiqh » Qibla.com » Mayonnaise and tomato ketchup contain spirit vinegar, are they haram to consume

Mayonnaise and tomato ketchup contain spirit vinegar, are they haram to consume

Answered by Shaykh Faraz Rabbani

I have noticed that mayonnaise and tomato ketchup and some other food contain spirit vinegar. I an confused as to whether they are halal or haram to consume. Some people say they are ok to eat. Please let me know asap

Answer:
In the Name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

Assalamu Alaykum wa Rahmatullah,

In the Hanafi school, it is permitted to consume wine vinegarâ–whether it transformed by itself or through intervention. [Shaykh al-Islam al-Marghinani, al-Hidaya]

Imam Akmal al-Din al-Babarti (Allah have mercy on him) explains in al-`Inaya, his commentary on al-Hidaya, that the texts that would seem to indicate the prohibition of wine vinegar are understood to be abrogated by later texts establishing permission. The wisdom behind the temporary prohibition was to reinforce the dislike of wine in the hearts of those morally responsible, as the hadith commentators explain.

And Allah alone gives success.

Wassalam.

Faraz Rabbani.

Please see the following link:

Kosher, Gelatin, Mono-diglycerides, Soaps, Lotions…

Can one consume food with white wine vinegar?

Is spirit vinegar lawful to consume?

قال شيخ الإسلام المرغيناني (رحمه الله تعالى) في
الهداية:

قال ( وإذا تخللت الخمر حلت سواء صارت خلا بنفسها أو
بشيء يطرح فيها , ولا يكره تخليلها ) وقال الشافعي : يكره التخليل ولا يحل
الخل الحاصل به إن كان التخليل بإلقاء شيء فيه قولا واحدا , وإن كان بغير
إلقاء شيء فيه فله في الخل الحاصل به قولان له أن في التخليل اقترابا من
الخمر على وجه التمول , والأمر بالاجتناب ينافيه ولنا قوله عليه الصلاة
والسلام { نعم الإدام الخل } من غير فصل , وقوله عليه الصلاة والسلام { خير
خلكم خل خمركم } ولأن بالتخليل يزول الوصف المفسد وتثبت صفة الصلاح من حيث
تسكين الصفراء وكسر الشهوة , والتغذي به والإصلاح مباح , وكذا الصالح
للمصالح اعتبارا بالمتخلل بنفسه وبالدباغ والاقتراب لإعدام الفساد فأشبه
الإراقة , والتخليل أولى لما فيه من إحراز مال يصير حلالا في الثاني
فيختاره من ابتلي به , وإذا صار الخمر خلا يطهر ما يوازيها من الإناء ,
فأما أعلاه وهو الذي نقص منه الخمر قيل يطهر تبعا وقيل لا يطهر ; لأنه خمر
يابس إلا إذا غسل بالخل فيتخلل من ساعته فيطهر , وكذا إذا صب فيه الخمر ثم
ملئ خلا يطهر في الحال على ما قالوا .

قال الإمام أكمل الدين البابرتي (رحمه الله تعالى) في
العناية شرح الهداية:

وقوله ( وإذا تخللت الخمر ) يعني أن خل الخمر حلال عندنا
سواء تخللت بنفسها أو خللت . … فإن قيل : فما تصنع بقوله صلى الله عليه
وسلم { لا ولكن أرقها حين سأله أبو طلحة عن تخليل خمر أيتام عنده } , وبما
روي ” { أنه صلى الله عليه وسلم نهى أن يتخذ الخمر خلا } ” أجيب عن الأول
بأن ذلك في ابتداء التحريم

This answer was indexed from Qibla.com, which used to have a repository of Islamic Q&A answered by various scholars. The website is no longer in existence. It has now been transformed into a learning portal with paid Islamic course offering under the brand of Kiflayn.

Read answers with similar topics: