Is EDTA halal?
Answer In the name of Allah the All-knowing
Yes, EDTA or ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid is Halal to consume. It is a polyprotic acid containing four carboxylic acid groups (COOH) and two amine groups (Nitrogen groups). EDTA is synthesized on an industrial scale from ethylenediamine, formaldehyde, and a source of cyanide (HCN or NaCN).
Once these components react together the product is EDTA, it is Halal to consume.
EDTA is used in sauces etc, and to give the colours of certain shampoos.
And Allah knows best
Ref Mcmurry Organic Chemistry 6th edition
24 March 2006
Mufti Abubakr Karolia
Founder of the “Islamic Foundation for Theology and Research” (I.F.T.A.R)
Original Source Link