IslamQA.org Logo

Cheddar cheese crisps

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Muftisays.com
assalamu alaikum can you plz tell me if the walkers cheddar cheese flavoured crisps are halal or not? Ingredients:
Potatoes, sunflower oil, cheddar cheese flavour [lactose(from milk), flavour enhancers (monosodium glutamate, disodium guanylate, disodium inosinate), flavourings, cheese powder made from animal rennet, milk proteins, colour [paprika extract)], salt.

Answer
In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

Jazakallahu Khayran for your query. Rennet per se, is not impermissible.
It is permissible to eat cheese which has rennet from calf rennet though
praiseworthy to refrain from due to a slight difference of opinion viz:

Is Whey Rennet Haraam? (no!)
http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=20

And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh
www.foodguide.org.uk

————————————–
(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide

Original Source Link

This answer was collected from MuftiSays.com, based in London (UK). It is one of the fruits of Darul Uloom London. Many ‘ulama are involved in answering the Q&A on the site, including: Shaikul Hadeeth Mufti Umar Farooq Sahib, Mufti Saifur Rahman Sahib, Mufti Abdullah Patel Sahib, Maulana Qamruz Zaman Sahib, Mufti Abu Bakr Karolia Sahib.

Find more answers indexed from: Muftisays.com
Read more answers with similar topics: