1

Cheese that is halaal to eat.

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DarulUloomTT.net

Question:

I would like to know if any cheese is halaal to eat, especially cheddar cheese, the rennet and rennet-free, because some muslims are saying any cheddar cheese is good. Please update me as soon as possible.


Answer:

That which makes the cheese unlawful for use is the rennet in the cheese. The source of rennet may be from animals or bacteria. The scholars have allowed the consumption of those cheese made from the rennet which is obtained from sheep, calves or bacteria.

However rennet obtained from pigs are totally unlawful for consumption. Most of the cheese that are on our local market today is made from calf or microbial rennet and is permissible for us.

Some of the cheese which we have checked and are free from doubts are:

  1. Milkana Rennet free cheese
  2. Anchor Vegetarian Cheddar cheese
  3. Open Country Cheddar cheese

And Allah knows best.
Mufti Waseem Khan

This answer was collected from DarulUloomTT.net, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Waseem Khan from Darul Uloom Trinidad and Tobago.

Sidebar