Home » Hanafi Fiqh » Muftisays.com » Are beta carotene, aspartame, diphosphates, and disodium phosphate halal?

Are beta carotene, aspartame, diphosphates, and disodium phosphate halal?

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by Muftisays.com
is beta carotene, aspartame, diphosphates and disodium phosphate haraam

Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

Beta carotene can be from animal or vegetarian sources i.e. use of animal enzymes. If packaging is labelled ‘suitable for vegetarians’ then the beta carotene is from vegetable sources. If the product is not suitable for vegetarians, it does not necessarily mean that if that the beta carotene is not suitable for MUSLIMS as many companies use a fish-based beta carotene. They also use bovine-based beta carotene which is not suitable. The only safe way is to look for a suitable for vegetarians label andor to ask the company the source of the beta carotene.

as·par·tame (ăs’pər-tām’, ə-spär’-) pronunciation n. An artificial sweetener, C14H18N2O5, formed from aspartic acid. It is Halaal.

di·phos·phate (dī-fŏs’fāt’) pronunciation n. An ester of phosphoric acid containing two phosphate groups. It is Halaal.

disodium phosphate – It is Halaal.

And Allah Knows Best

Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh

(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide

Original Source Link

This answer was collected from MuftiSays.com, based in London (UK). It is one of the fruits of Darul Uloom London. Many ‘ulama are involved in answering the Q&A on the site, including: Shaikul Hadeeth Mufti Umar Farooq Sahib, Mufti Saifur Rahman Sahib, Mufti Abdullah Patel Sahib, Maulana Qamruz Zaman Sahib, Mufti Abu Bakr Karolia Sahib.

Read answers with similar topics: