Are protein powders halal to consume, such as the ones used for weight training and dietary supplements?
Below is a sample of the ingredient list, please let me know if any of these ingredients are concerning.
Other Ingredients: A Sustained Release Ultra-Premium Protein Matrix Comprised of (Ultrafiltered Whey Protein Concentrate [Milk] Rich in Alpha-Lactalbumin, Microfiltered Whey Protein Isolate [Milk] Rich in Whey Isolate Peptide Fractions, Calcium Caseinate, Micellar Alpha and Beta Caseins and Caseinates [Milk], Milk Protein Isolate [Milk], and Egg Albumen [Egg], Glutamine Peptides), Richmix Sunflower Powder Consisting of (Sunflower Oil, Corn Syrup Solids, Sodium Caseinate [Milk], Mono- and Di-Glycerides, and Dipotassium Phosphate), Dutch Processed Cocoa Powder, Litesse II Polydextrose, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Nutrisperse MCT Powder Consisting of (Medium Chain Triglycerides, Non-Fat Dry Milk, Disodium Phosphate, and Silicon Dioxide), Ticalose Cellulose Gum, Sucralose, Acesulfame Potassium, Lecithin [Soy], Aminogen, and Papain.
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.
We observe you are from the United States. It must be noted that not all whey products are Halal, as non-Halal animal based rennet is often used in the making process.
It is advised that we restrict ourselves to Only halal or kosher certified whey products as shown by the halal or kosher symbols such as UD, KD, and COR. Even when using Kosher certified whey made with non-animal based media and microbial rennet, caution must be exercised, because the manufacturer can change the rennet source any time without notifying Muslim consumers.
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Student Darul Iftaa
Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.
 If a Halal symbol such as “H” in triangle or kosher symbol such as U, UD, V, CRC, KMH, COR, K or KD appear on the package (without wine, alcohol, all types of gelatin, L-Cysteine from human hair), it means that the fat based ingredient is obtained from vegetable fat. http://www.muslimconsumergroup.com/ingredient_types.html