Q: I just found out that most sodas contain some alcohol. The company for Canada Dry said “the amounts are very slight, but still present.” Now these sodas with the same brand are being sold in Muslim countries so I’m assuming 0.0071% alcohol (the amount in a Fanta orange soda) in a drink is permissible. But just to be sure, is it really halal or is that a matter of debate?
A: Precaution requires that you abstain.
And Allah Ta’ala (الله تعالى) knows best.
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)