Is ice cream containing minute amounts of alcohol permissible?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by

Would ice cream containing
minute amounts of alcohol be considered as Haraam?


In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

It is Halaal to consume such ice creams that
contain the small amount of alcohol, on condition the alcohol used is not made
from grapes or dates and the remaining ingredients of the item are all Halaal.
The presence of very small amounts of alcohol, used as carriers or solvents does
not intoxicate even if such products are consumed in large amounts, therefore
is permissible.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Mufti Arshad Ali

Darul Iftaa, Jaamia Madinatul Uloom (Trinidad)

This answer was collected from, which is operated by the Darul Iftaa of Jaamia Madinatul Uloom (Trinidad and Tobago) under the advice and guidance of Mufti Ebrahim Desai (Daamat Barakaatuhum) of South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from:
Read more answers with similar topics:
Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week

We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!