IslamQA.org Logo

Can you please give a ruling on whether vanilla extract is halal or not.

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Askimam.org

Can you please give a ruling on whether vanilla extract is halal or not. 

I am under the impression that vanilla extract has artificial alcohol and is halal under the Hanafi madhhab. Can you please clarify whether this is correct? Can we consumer products that list vanilla extract as one of the ingredients, such as many chocolates, cakes and other food items. Does one have to verify the source of the vanilla extract each time before consuming a product that contains it? As such, if I see a bar of chocolate or a piece of cake that has vanilla extract in it, can I just eat it or do I need to investigate it further?

What about a product that doesn’t list the ingredients, such as cake from a bakery? If it is from a Muslim country, is it permissible to consumer while better to exercise precaution, or would it be impermissible to consume without confirming the ingredients?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa rahmatullāhi wa barakātuh.

There are different types of vanilla extracts and vanilla flavoured foods. Therefore, we cannot issue a general ruling on the permissibility or impermissibility of vanilla extracts. 

If it is known that a particular Muslim country or store observes all the regulations of halāl and there is no reasonable grounds for doubt, one may consume its food items without knowledge of the exact ingredients. If there are reasonable grounds for doubt, one must investigate and ensure the food he consumes is halāl.[1]

And Allah Ta‘ālā Knows Best

Zameelur Rahman

Student Darul Iftaa
UK

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

www.daruliftaa.net

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


[1] قد يكون الحكم مبنيا على أن الشريعة تعتبر ظاهر الحال، وظاهر الحال قد يتغير بتغير الزمان…قال ابن الهمام رحمة الله تعالى في شرحه: والظاهر الذي يثبت بالغالب أقوى من الظاهر الذي يثبت بظاهر الإسلام…(أصول الإفتاء وآدابه، ص.٢٦٣-٤)

رجل دخل على قوم من المسلمين يأكلون طعاما ويشربون شرابا فدعوه إليه فقال له رجل مسلم ثقة قد عرفه: هذا اللحم ذبيحة المجوسي وهذا الشراب قد خالطه الخمر وقال الذين دعوه إلى ذلك: ليس الأمر كما قال، بل هو حلال؛ فإنه ينظر في حالهم فإن كانوا عدولا ثقات لم يلتفت إلى قول ذلك الرجل الواحد وإن كانوا متهمين أخذ بقوله (الفتاوى الهندية، ج.٥ ص.٣٨٢)

الفتاوى المحمودية، ج.١٧ ص.٢٩١

This answer was collected from Askimam.org, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Ebrahim Desai from South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from: Askimam.org
Read more answers with similar topics:
Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week



We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!