Home » Hanafi Fiqh » Askimam.org » Is vanilla extract Halaal?

Is vanilla extract Halaal?

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by Askimam.org

Is vanilla extract halal for consumption when used in other food products e.g. chocolate or other foods.

Is vanilla flavoured foods e.g. yoghurt, drinks, ice cream halal because I have heard vanilla is extracted using alcohol?

Jazakallah for your time


In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

There are different types of vanilla extracts and vanilla flavored foods including the processing structures such as cold processing, etc. Therefore, we cannot issue a general ruling on the permissibility or impermissibility of Vanilla extracts.

In order for us to issue a ruling, kindly specify the specific type of Vanilla Extract/vanilla flavored food and the manufacturing company you are referring to.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best                                       

Ismail Desai,
Student Darul Iftaa
Durban, South Africa

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

This answer was collected from Askimam.org, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Ebrahim Desai from South Africa.

Read answers with similar topics: