Home » Hanafi Fiqh » Muftionline.co.za » Brandywine Vinegar: Is it Halal or Not?

Brandywine Vinegar: Is it Halal or Not?

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by Muftionline.co.za

Q: I would like to ask you about the Brandywine vinegar as I am studying in Germany and almost every other has this Branntweinessig and they use it as a cheap preservative for yogurt, ketchup, mayonnaise, even some milk drinks also have this. So is it permissible to use this or not as due to language barriers I could only rely on translation which literally means wine vinegar.


A: If it goes through a fermentation process and becomes vinegar, then it is permissible.

And Allah Ta’ala (الله تعالى) knows best.

Answered by:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)

This answer was collected from MuftiOnline.co.za, where the questions have been answered by Mufti Zakaria Makada (Hafizahullah), who is currently a senior lecturer in the science of Hadith and Fiqh at Madrasah Ta’leemuddeen, Isipingo Beach, South Africa.

Read answers with similar topics: