IslamQA.org Logo

Are white wine vinegar and red wine vinegar halal?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Darulfiqh.com

Question:

Are the following halal? White wine vinegar and red wine vinegar?

Answer:

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Vinegar originates from wine. It goes through a chemical process whereby it transforms into vinegar.  As a result, all the elements which render alcohol Haram are removed.[1]

Therefore, white wine vinegar and red wine vinegar are halāl for consumption.[2]

And Allah Ta’ālā Knows Best

Mufti Faraz Adam,
www.darulfiqh.com


[1] http://amazingfactsworld.com/how-is-vinegar-made

[2]  قَالَ: (وَخَلُّ الْخَمْرِ حَلَالٌ سَوَاءٌ تَخَلَّلَتْ أَوْ خُلِّلَتْ) لِقَوْلِهِ – صَلَّى اللَّهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ -: «نِعْمَ الْأُدُمُ الْخَلُّ» مُطْلَقًا، وَقَالَ – صَلَّى اللَّهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ -: «خَيْرُ خَلِّكُمً خَلُّ خَمْرِكُمْ» وَلِأَنَّ التَّخْلِيلَ يُزِيلُ الْوَصْفَ الْمُفْسِدَ وَيُثْبِتُ وَصْفَ الصَّلَاحِيَّةِ لِأَنَّ فِيهِ مَصْلَحَةَ قَمْعِ الصَّفْرَاءِ وَالتَّغَدِّي وَمَصَالِحَ كَثِيرَةً، وَإِذَا زَالَ الْمُفْسِدُ الْمُوجِبُ لِلْحُرْمَةِ حَلَّتْ كَمَا إِذَا تَخَلَّلَتْ بِنَفْسِهَا (الاختيار ج 4 ص 101-102 دار الكتب)

فتاوى محمودية ج 18 ص 179 إدارة الفاروق

This answer was collected from DarulFiqh.com, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Faraz ibn Adam al-Mahmudi, the student of world renowned Mufti Ebrahim Desai (Hafizahullah).

Find more answers indexed from: Darulfiqh.com
Read more answers with similar topics:
Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week



We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!