IslamQA

Are bovine collagen supplements halal?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham


Answered by:  Maulana Irfan Ali​


Question:


Are bovine collagen supplements halal?


Collagen peptide supplements are typically derived from bovine connective tissue or fish, from marine collagen.


 


Answer:


In The Name Of Allah, The Most-Merciful, The Most Kind


 


The ruling regarding the food is that the product which is consumed contains no haram substance. Certain foods cannot be ruled halal until a full description of its ingredients is given. Upon research it has come to light there are many products which consist of the same name and to some there are halal ingredients and to some haram. Therefore it makes it difficult to differentiate between which product the question is regarding.


 


Only Allah knows best


Written by Maulana Irfan Ali


Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah


Darul Ifta Birmingham


 


 


This answer was collected from DarulIftaBirmingham.co.uk, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.

Find more answers indexed from: DarulIftaBirmingham
Read more answers with similar topics: