IslamQA

Is Pharmaceutical grade gelatin halal or haram?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham

Answered by: Moulana Muhammad Imad Ali

Question:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah!

Is Pharmaceutical grade gelatin halal or haram?


بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم


In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

Answer:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakaatuh,

Pharmaceutical grade gelatin may contain bovine, which is derived from beef, so therefore, it won’t be suitable for vegetarians.

Gelatin, whether bovine or otherwise (pork/chicken varieties) are all considered to be non-veg. Most vegetarians will not eat since it is made from the hooves, bones or skin of the afore-mentioned animals.

Only Allah knows best

Answered by Moulana Muhammad Imad Ali

Checked and approved by Mufti Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham


This answer was collected from DarulIftaBirmingham.co.uk, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.

Find more answers indexed from: DarulIftaBirmingham
Read more answers with similar topics:
Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week



We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!