IslamQA.org Logo

Consuming soft shell capsules made of Bovine Gelatin

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Askimam.org

Please inform me if we can consume soft shell capsules made of Bovine Gelatin.

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

It is not permissible to consume Bovine Gelatin.

However, if there is a genuine medical need and there is no other medical alternative, then it is permissible for one to consume capsules made out of Bovine Gelatine for medical purposes only.

This will have to be prescribed by a medical doctor.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Moulana Ismail Desai,
Student Darul Iftaa
Durban, South Africa

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

Original Source Link

This answer was collected from Askimam.org, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Ebrahim Desai from South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from: Askimam.org
Read more answers with similar topics:
Ad by Muslim Ad Network
Search
Related QA

Pin It on Pinterest