1. Let us assume that the alcohol used in manufacturing a particular food product is from grapes or dates. However, the manufacturer claims that after a certain point in the manufacturing process, the alcohol has completely evaporated so that it is not present in the final food product. Is the final food product halal or haram? 2. Often times it is very difficult to ascertain whether or not the alcohol used to manufacture a certain food product is from grapes or dates, or from another source. In such a situation, will it be permissible to consume the food? 3. Let us assume that the alcohol used in a certain cough syrup is from a source OTHER than grapes or dates. The alcohol is highly concentrated in the syrup so that drinking a lot of the syrup can lead to early stages of intoxication. Also, a non-alcoholic substitute is readily available. In such a situtation, will it be permissible to consume the alchoholic syrup?
1. We are unable to comment on this question due to insufficient
information. We require more information and research which also includes a
personal visit and examining the manufacturing process.
2. In such a situation, one should abstain from consuming such food.
3. Since this is a medical issue, in situation of life and death, it will be
permissible to consume the syrup. If an alternative is available, then it
will not be permissible to consume the syrup containing alcohol.
and Allah Ta’ala Knows Best
Mufti Ebrahim Desai