Milk Products

Respected Mufti Saheb,
Ássalaamu alaykum wa Rahmatullaahi wa Barakaatuhu!
Milk Products
Cheese and village cheese and the waste product of their processing, namely of whey.
Natural rennet ferment is used at present as a milk-coagulating agent as well as natural pepsin (from chicks and swine) and also microbiological ferments produced by microbes while manufacturing rennet cheeses.
Melted cheeses are practically always obtained from rennet cheeses; besides they often contain whey of the same origin as rennet cheeses.
What is halal status of these cheeses?

Rennet cheeses are used while manufacturing cheese pastes, cheese butter, Danish pastry, cheese sauces, chips with cheese (but not with cheese taste) cheese creams and tarts, cheese cookies (with cheese but not with cheese taste), cheese sticks, etc.
What is halal status of these products?

Village cheese serves at present as the basis for making village cheese masses with various additives (dried apricots, raisins, prunes, jams of strawberries, raspberries, huckleberries etc.), packed village cheeses, mousses, and other village cheese dainties and the village cheese contained in them was made while using rennet ferments of animal origin. Besides such products often contain gelatin as stabilizer and red village cheese dainties (of strawberries or cherries) are often coloured with carmine E120.
What is halal status of these products?

Whey.

If the manufacturing of milk products, regenerated milk, yogurt, ice-cream, village cheese) provides the use of dry fat-free milk, the manufacturers of milk produce almost everywhere replace it partly with dry whey to decrease the first cost. The whey as well as rennet cheeses might have had contacts with rennet ferments of unknown origin; microbe or swine pepsin might have been used.
The fact is that the manufacturer of milk produce seldom places the information of having used the whey at the label whereas he himself might be unaware of its being used; a mixture of milk and whey might have been sold to him already instead of dry fat-free milk.

If the cheese is haram, is the whey obtained during its manufacturing haram because it also had contacts with the rennet ferment, and some residual amounts of it might remain in the whey?
In other words, is the whey’s status the same as that of cheese or village cheese?

A substance named lactose (milk sugar) is derived from whey, and it is rather often used while producing confection. cheese or village cheese.
Dose lactose have the same status as the whey it is obtained from, i.e. that of cheese or village cheese?

Sincerely yours, brothers from Saratov

Answer
In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

Jazakallahu Khayran for your query. The following should be sufficient.

1.
Rennet per se, is not impermissible.
It is permissible to eat cheese which has rennet from calf rennet though
praiseworthy to refrain from due to a slight difference of opinion viz:
Swine pig rennet is not permissible, however we have yet to come across it
in
Europe.

Is Whey Rennet Haraam? (no!)
http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=20

2.
definition of E120:
E120 Cochineal, Carminic acid, Carmines, Natural Red 4 [Colouring] [possible
allergic reaction] [animal origin]
Source: www.bryngollie.com
Cochineal: A red dyestuff consisting of dried bodies of female cochineal
insects

Insects are not permissible to eat.

3.
Lactose from a cow is permissible.

Lactose:
A sugar comprising one glucose molecule linked to a galactose molecule;
occurs only in milk
“cow’s milk contains about 4.7% lactose”
Source: Wordweb

4. Gelatine
One must find out the source of the gelatine before one can consume. As a
rule of thumb, consider gelatine (kosher or otherwise) as Haraam unless
proved otherwise. Fish gelatine is suitable as a substitute. Generally
porcine or bovine based gelatine is commonly used which is Haraam.

And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh
www.foodguide.org.uk

————————————–
(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide

Email:

Source