Answered by Shaykh Yusuf Badat
Are Doritos Nacho Cheese flavoured tortilla chips halal? Please advise!
Jazakumullahu Khairan / Thank you for contacting the Mathabah. May Allah bless you for your concern regarding halal consumption.
In response to your concern, I contacted the Frito Lay Canada company by phone on Monday January 18, 2010 at around 10:10 am and spoke at length with the customer service representative. She stated that the cheese and whey in the ‘Doritos Nacho Cheese Flavoured Tortilla Chips’ are made from animal by products, namely beef and pork.
In accordance to the above information provided by the company, the ‘Doritos Nacho Cheese Flavoured Tortilla Chips’ will not be suitable for Muslim consumption. The product is haram (non halal/ prohibited) as per Islamic dietary laws.
The consumption of pork, non zabiha meats and their by products are strictly prohibited in Islam.
“So eat of that (meat) upon which Allah’s name has been mentioned, if you are believers in His verses” (Holy Quran 6:118)
“He has forbidden you only the Maitah (dead animals), and blood, and the flesh of swine, and that which is slaughtered as a sacrifice for others than Allah (or has been slaughtered for idols, on which Allah’s Name has not been mentioned while slaughtering). But if one is forced by necessity without wilful disobedience nor transgressing due limits, then there is no sin on him. Truly, Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful” (Holy Quran 2:173)
Jabir RA reported, “Allah’s Messenger PBUH said: “That flesh will not enter Paradise which has grown from Haram, and all that flesh which has grown from Haram, the fire (of hell) is more worthy of it. “
(Ahmed, Darimi, Baihaqi)
And Allah Knows Best
This answer was collected from Mathabah.org. It’s an Islamic educational institute based in Canada. The questions are generally answered by Sheikh Yusuf Badat and Sheikh Omar Subedar.