Home » Hanafi Fiqh » Fatwa.ca » Gelatine in vitamin capsules

Gelatine in vitamin capsules

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by Fatwa.ca


Are we allowed to eat vitamins with gelatine in them? My daughter doesn’t eat good and is in need of vitamins, my dad brought maybe 30 pairs for my daughter, and my husband is too poor to buy other vitamins, should I give it to my daughter?


In the name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

Commercially the gelatin used in most of the capsules and medication is animal based. This is not to say that there are no commercial products which may use plant or other gelatine. But, since animal rennet is so widespread, a muslim is liable to find out what ingredients are in the medication. Let me try to simplify the issue.

  • If the gelatine is from non animal source, then it will be permissible.
  • If the gelatine is from bones of those animals which are consumable by muslims, then such gelatine is also halal. For this gelatine from bones of these animals, zabiha is not a condition.
  • If the gelatine is from hide/skin of those animals which are consumable by muslims, the the animal needs to be slaughtered for the gelatine to be considered halal.
  • If the gelatine is from bones or skin of animals which we cannot eat (lions, tigers), then that gelatine is not permissible.
  • If the gelatine is from any part of pork/pig/swine, then it will never be halal.

The best way is to call the company and confirm what type of gelatine is in the product, and then make the decision. If one is not able to get such clarification, then one should abstain from consuming any such product.

Wallahu A’lam,

And Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

Mufti Faisal bin Abdul Hameed,
Montréal, Canada

This answer was collected from Fatwa.ca, which is a fatwa portal operated by Mufti Faisal al Mahmudi from Canada. 

Read answers with similar topics: