Corn Alcohol

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Askmufti.co.za

Q: I recently purchased a bottle of peppermint extract which lists 95% alcohol and peppermint oil as the ingredients. I emailed the manufacturer, and was told they use ‘100% distilled spirit corn alcohol’. I’m not sure if this is still alcohol in its original state or if it has been altered enough for Muslim consumption?

A: Corn alcohol is also among the types of alcohol that are haraam. However, if you are using the peppermint extract in medicine as a cure, then it will be permissible to consume it as the Ulema have allowed this type of alcohol in medicine only.

And Allah knows best

Mufti Siraj Desai


Facebooktwitterredditpinterestmail
Sidebar