IslamQA

Vitamins containing ethyl alcohol.

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DarulUloomTT.net

Q. I would like to know if it is permissible to consume dietary supplements (such as Tisane) which contains ethyl alcohol because I’m not certain whether it is permissible or not. I am aware that most fruits naturally contains some percent of ethyl alcohol and I know that it is used in some medicine to dissolve other solid ingredients etc. I would really appreciate it if you could tell me whether tisane or products (like medicines/vitamins) that contain ethyl alcohol is good for Muslim consumption or not.


A. It is not permissible to consume supplements or any other medication or drinks which contain ethyl alcohol. Those fruits that may contain some percent of this will be permissible since it is a natural part of the fruit, and was not actually mixed with ethyl alcohol. As such, when someone consumes a fruit or its juice, he will not say that he has consumed a product which has been made with ethyl alcohol. If however, the fruit juice has been fermented and has reached a state which is known to be alcohol then it will be unlawful to consume.

With respect to that which you have asked about, these are products which are made with the alcohol and hence, would not be permissible for Muslims to consume.

And Allah knows best.

Mufti Waseem Khan

This answer was collected from DarulUloomTT.net, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Waseem Khan from Darul Uloom Trinidad and Tobago.

Find more answers indexed from: DarulUloomTT.net
Read more answers with similar topics:
Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week



We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!