Is Kosher Allowed for Muslims (Meat and Non-Meat Products)?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by

Answered by Shaykh Yūsuf Badāt


Is it permissible to eat Kosher meat? Are there any conditions?


Jazāk Allāh Khayr / Thank you for your question.

It is permissible to eat Kosher meat. The only condition is that the meat should genuinely be Kosher and not mixed with any non ḥalāl ingredients, such as wine.

Similar is the ruling of non-meat Kosher certified products. Usually most Kosher products also meet all the guidelines of ḥalāl. However, there are a few ingredients that may be Kosher which are non- ḥalāl, such as wine and gelatine. The muslim, ḥalāl-cautious consumer must verify Kosher certified products to have met Islamic guidelines.

“…the food of those who were given the Scripture is lawful for you and your food is lawful for them,” (Qur’ān 5:5)

And Allāh Knows Best

This answer was collected from It’s an Islamic educational institute based in Canada. The questions are generally answered by Sheikh Yusuf Badat and Sheikh Omar Subedar.

Find more answers indexed from:
Read more answers with similar topics:
Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week

We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!