Is Apple Cider Halal?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham


Answered by: Maulana Abdul Muktader​


Question


Is apple cider halal?


 


بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم


In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful


 


Answer:


 


The Cambridge dictionary defines cider as, ‘an alcoholic drink made from apples’.


 


Based on this, the consumption of Apple cider is impermissible.


يَا أَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا إِنَّمَا الْخَمْرُ وَالْمَيْسِرُ وَالْأَنصَابُ وَالْأَزْلَامُ رِجْسٌ مِّنْ عَمَلِ الشَّيْطَانِ فَاجْتَنِبُوهُ لَعَلَّكُمْ تُفْلِحُونَ – 5:90


‘O you who believe, indeed, intoxicants, gambling, [sacrificing on] stone alters [to other than Allah], and divining arrows are but defilement from the work of Satan, so avoid it that you may be successful’.


 


The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said: “Every intoxicant is haram[1].”


 


Only Allah knows best


Written by Maulana Abdul Muktader


Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah


Darul Ifta Birmingham


 


 



[1] Muslim (5219)


Sidebar