1

Is Quorn meat Halal according to the Hanafi School?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by AskOurImam.com
Prev Question
Next Question

We live in the U.K. I wanted to know if Quorn meat is suitable for the Muslim diet. Although it has been approved by the vegetarian society, and is stated on packed foods that made from vegetable proteins etc… I have my doubts! We are Hanafi followers. Please advise.

Answer:

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Quorn products are commercially produced meat-free foods made with Mycoprotein which is extracted from a particular type of fungus used as a substitute for protein-rich foods[1].

You may contact HMC (Halal Monitoring Committee), a reliable Halal authorising body in the United Kingdom, for their advice. Their contact details are on:

http://www.halalhmc.org/mobile/contact.htm

However, if you have a doubt, you should abstain from eating it until you get clarity.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Hanif Yusuf Patel

Student Darul Iftaa
UK

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

www.daruliftaa.net

 

This answer was collected from AskOurImam.com, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Hanif Yusuf Patel. He graduated from Jamiatul Ilm Wal Huda, Blackburn, U.K, with a distinction in Alimiyyah degree. He thereafter travelled to Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah Durban, South Africa, to train as a Mufti under the tutelage of Mufti Ebrahim Desai and Mufti Husain Kadodia.

Sidebar