IslamQA.org Logo

Medication with Haraam Ingredients

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Askmufti.co.za

Q: I have a medication and on the ingredients it says that it contains gelatine. Is it permissible to take this tablet?

A. It will be permissible to use medicine that contains a Haraam ingredient such as gelatine when no Halaal medicine is available to substitute it.  However, first find out from a Muslim physician whether there is a substitute for the Haraam medication, and whether your condition is so serious that you need to take that medication. Once this is determined, it will be permissible to use the medication that contains gelatine.

Mufti Siraj Desai

This answer was collected from AskMufti.co.za, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Siraj Desai of Darul-Uloom Abubakr, South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from: Askmufti.co.za
Read more answers with similar topics:
Search
Related QA

Pin It on Pinterest