Home » Hanafi Fiqh » DarulIftaBirmingham » Are snicker minis halal

Are snicker minis halal

 Are snicker minis halal ? 

In the name of Allah, the most Beneficent, the most Merciful.


The answer to your question depends on whether there is animal rennet in the chocolate or not.

Cheese made from milk contains an ingredient called infaha in Arabic and rennet in English. It is a mucous membrane lining taken out from the stomachs of suckling lambs or kids. It is used to coagulate or curdle milk. If rennet is taken out of the stomach of an animal slaughtered in the name of Allah, there is no harm in using it. The meat, fat of an Islamically slaughtered animal are permissible. But, in the event they are taken from the stomach of an animal slaughtered unislamically, there is difference of views among Muslim jurists. Imam Abu Hanifah and Imam Malik consider it clean and pure while Imam Abu Yusuf, Muhammad and others call it unclean and impure.

There is a strong likelihood that rennet from unislamically slaughtered animals is used in cheese made in non-Islamic countries. Under the juristic position taken by Imam Abu Hanifa and Imam Malik, leeway exsists. However, it is more precautious to act upon the views of Imam Abu Yusuf and Muhammed and refrain from it. (Maariful Quran P.428 V.1)

Only Allah Knows Best

Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham.


This answer was collected from DarulIftaBirmingham.co.uk, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.

Read answers with similar topics: