IslamQA.org Logo

Corn Alcohol

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Askmufti.co.za

Q: I recently purchased a bottle of peppermint extract which lists 95% alcohol and peppermint oil as the ingredients. I emailed the manufacturer, and was told they use ‘100% distilled spirit corn alcohol’. I’m not sure if this is still alcohol in its original state or if it has been altered enough for Muslim consumption?

A: Corn alcohol is also among the types of alcohol that are haraam. However, if you are using the peppermint extract in medicine as a cure, then it will be permissible to consume it as the Ulema have allowed this type of alcohol in medicine only.

And Allah knows best

Mufti Siraj Desai


This answer was collected from AskMufti.co.za, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Siraj Desai of Darul-Uloom Abubakr, South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from: Askmufti.co.za
Read more answers with similar topics:
Search
Related QA

Pin It on Pinterest