1

Is vitamin D3 from sheep wool halal?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham
Facebooktwitterpinteresttumblrmail


Answered by: Maulana Muddasser Dhedhy


Question:


Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah!


Can you please confirm if VITAMIN D3 extracted from sheep’s wool is Halal?


بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم


In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.


Ad by Muslim Ad Network

Answer:


Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakaatuh,


Vitamin D3 is made from a substance known as lanolin which is extracted from the wool sheared from living sheep


Thus, such Vitamin D3 is halal.[1]


 


Only Allah Ta’ala knows best


Written by Maulana Muddasser Dhedhy


Checked and approved by Ustadha Sabrina al-Faarsiyyah


Darul Ifta Birmingham


 


 


 


 


 



[1] وَأَمَّا شَعْرُ الْمَيْتَةِ وَعَظْمُهَا وَصُوفُهَا وَقَرْنُهَا فَلَا بَأْسَ بِالِانْتِفَاعِ بِهَا وَبَيْعُ ذَلِكَ كُلِّهِ جَائِزٌ (الفتاوى الهندية ج 3 ص 124. دار الكتب العلمية)


(وَأَمَّا) الْأَجْزَاءُ الَّتِي لَا دَمَ فِيهَا فَإِنْ كَانَتْ صُلْبَةً كَالْقَرْنِ وَالْعَظْمِ وَالسِّنِّ وَالْحَافِرِ، وَالْخُفِّ وَالظِّلْفِ وَالشَّعْرِ وَالصُّوفِ، وَالْعَصَبِ وَالْإِنْفَحَةِ الصُّلْبَةِ، فَلَيْسَتْ بِنَجِسَةٍ عِنْدَ أَصْحَابِنَا. (بدائع الصنائع ج 1 ص 370. دار الكتب العلمية)


Facebooktwitterpinteresttumblrmail
Sidebar



Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week



We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!