1

Yeast Fermentation in Dairy Products

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Askimam.org
Facebooktwitterpinteresttumblrmail

 

 

A dairy product in which alcohol is produced via yeast fermentatIon. is this form of alcohol acceptable in the hanafi school of thought?

Answer

In the Name of Allāh, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Fermentation is a metabolic process that converts sugar to acids, gases, and/or alcohol.[1] Yeast fermentation is the process in which yeast breaks down sugar into alcohol and carbon dioxide. Yeast are tiny single-celled fungi that contain special enzymes responsible for this reaction.[2] The type of alcohol found in products can be defined depending on the grain or sugar source the yeast feeds on.

As such, it is understood that a blanket ruling cannot be given unless the grain or sugar source is identified in products which contain alcohol.

And Allah Ta‘āla Knows Best

Fahad Abdul Wahab

Student Darul Iftaa

New York, USA

Checked and Approved by,

Mufti Ebrahim Desai                                                                                                                                                                                                                

www.Daruliftaa.net

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Facebooktwitterpinteresttumblrmail
Sidebar



Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week



We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!