IslamQA.org Logo

Is Beef Gelatin halal?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham

Answered by: Maulana Nabil Khan

Question:

Is beef gelatin halal?

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

Answer:

If the cow had been slaughtered according to Shariah, then there would be no harm in eating it and it would be considered halal. However, if the cow was not slaughtered according to the rules of Shariah then the gelatin will be haram.

Some scholars have argued that Qalb Al-Mahiyah (metamorphosis) has occurred in the production of gelatin. However, many senior scholars have not considered it to follow all of the conditions. It is best to hold caution and refrain from in this case.

[1]

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Nabil Khan

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 


[1] Ask Imam Fatwa: # 26013

Al-Fatawa Al-Hindiyyah

This answer was collected from DarulIftaBirmingham.co.uk, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.

Find more answers indexed from: DarulIftaBirmingham
Read more answers with similar topics: