What is the ruling on beef gelatin?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham

Answered by: Maulana Shadman Ahmed


Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah

What is the ruling on beef gelatin?


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

While some scholars claim that tabdīl al-māhiyyah (altering of the essence) takes place when making gelatin, the majority do not find that it has. They, therefore, find the default ruling on the consumption of gelatin to be permissible only if it is made from a ḥalāl source (for example gelatin from fish or gelatin from a cow that was properly slaughtered), and not from a ḥarām source (for example gelatin from pig) or a doubtful source (gelatin from cow where the method of killing is unknown).

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Shadman Ahmed

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham





This answer was collected from, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.

Find more answers indexed from: DarulIftaBirmingham
Read more answers with similar topics:
Related QA

Pin It on Pinterest