i have been told by someone that gelatin without the “e” is halal and that gelatine with the “e” is haraam in uk made sweets, but i always thought that both of these were haram and alot of muslims eat these sweets thinking that it is halal,could you please kindly inform if gelatin is different from gelatine and if it is permissible to eat the sweets that contain it,also could you please tell me if the following are halal ,white wine vinegar and ethyl alcohol and also if we have pictures we took for passport can we send the ones not used to family in india who will discard of them after seeing them. Last ? i have heard that if we put our hairs in bin and they are burned we get disease/illness is this true and do we get sin for binning them?JAZAKALLAH
1. We are in South Africa and do not know the Halaal and Haraam codes in the UK.
2. White wine vinegar is permissibile. Ethyl alcohol is also permissible.
3. It is not permissible to send the passport photos to relatives for viewing.
4. Cut or falling hair should be disposed off by burying them, and not burning them.
and Allah Ta’ala Knows Best
Mufti Ebrahim Desai