Are Prawns Halaal
There is a difference of opinion amongst the senior ‘Ulama with regards to the permissibility of consuming prawns. One group of Ulama hold the view that they are Halaal while another group believe that they are Haraam.
The Hanafi mad’hab only permits the consumption of fish from the sea creatures. The reason for the difference of opinion in prawns stems from the categorization of prawns. One group maintains that prawns are a type of fish, whilst the other believes that they are not from the fish family. Both opinions are strong and reliable.
Taqwa demands that one refrain from consuming prawns, though there is leeway in consuming them.
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Nabeel Valli.
Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah
ولا يؤكل من حيوان الماء إلا السمك
 أحسن الفتاوى (ج7 ص391) أيج أيم سعيد
فتاوى رحيمية (ج10 ص77) دار الإشاعة
This answer was collected from Daruliftaazambia.com, which serves as a gateway to Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah – Lusaka, Zambia.