Home » Hanafi Fiqh » Mathabah.org » Wine Vinegar

Wine Vinegar

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by Mathabah.org
Answered by Shaykh Yūsuf Badāt


Is wine vinegar ḥalāl in balsamic vinegar?


In the Name of God, Most Merciful, Most Kind

Jazāk Allāh Khayr/ Thank you for your question.

Yes, it is islamically permissible to consume vinegar made from wine.

The reason for this is the wine completely transforms into vinegar, with no trace left of the wine as an intoxicant. This, in jurisprudence, is known as tabdīl al-māhiyah. (See: Al-Fiqh Al-Islamīy Wa Adillatuh)

Some jurists such as the Shāfiʿe, Mālikī and Ḥanbalī are of the view, the wine should have transformed into vinegar by itself without any human intervention, then only will it be considered ḥalāl. However, Ḥanafī jurists are of the opinion, regardless, the vinegar originating from wine is permissible. (See: Bayhaqī, Al-Fiqh Al-Islamīy Wa Adillatuh and Al-Badāiʾ Al-Ṣanāʾi)

“Your best vinegar is the one you produce from wine.” (Bayhaqī)

And Allāh Knows Best

This answer was collected from Mathabah.org. It’s an Islamic educational institute based in Canada. The questions are generally answered by Sheikh Yusuf Badat and Sheikh Omar Subedar.

Read answers with similar topics: