Many people have ben asking me if soy lecithin is Halal. also if doritos chips is Halal. I would appreciate it if you would reply to my message. Thanks…
In the name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful
Assalaamu `alaykum waRahmatullahi Wabarakatuh
1) Lecithin itself is an emulsifier comprised of glycerol, two fatty acids, phosphoric acid and choline. It is extracted from egg yolks, soybeans or animal fats. (IFANCA)
Therefore, if lecithin is from egg yolks or plant sources, it will be permissible. If from animal sources, it will be impermissible.
Soya Lecithin is derived from soya, which is vegetable source, so that will be permissible.
2) We are unaware of the Halaal/Haraam status of Doritos products in the U.S. However, after looking at their website it seems as though most Doritos products contain porcine enzymes. Therefore, Doritos products there should be avoided. You may verify this with a reliable ‘Alim in your area.
And Allah knows best
Ml. Asif Umar,
Student Darul Iftaa
Checked and Approved by:
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Darul Iftaa, Madrassah In’aamiyyah