Question
Salaam, I recently bought some puff pastry and the ingredients contained ethyl alcohol, I checked on the internet and some people/sites are of the opinion that it is halal in food as it is used as a preservative and is not an intoxicant. Can you please verify this. Jazakallah
Answer
I have researched on the subject, and come to a conclusion that ethyl alcohol is halal. Mufti Desai has given a fatwa of the same.