IslamQA.org Logo

Random Q&A

Are Wine Vinegar and Spirit Vinegar Permissible?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Seekersguidance.org

Answered by Ustadh Tabraze Azam

Question: Assalam alaykum,

Are white wine vinegar and spirit vinegar haram?

Answer:Wa alaikum assalam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh,

I pray that you are in the best of health and faith, insha’Allah.

Vinegar from wines and spirits is permitted. [Kasani, Bada`i al-Sana`i fi Tartib al-Shara`i]

As for the traditions (hadith) indicating prohibition of making vinegar from wine, they are understood to be:

(a) in the context of the early days of the prohibition of alcohol in which its consumption was rife, or

(b) a prohibition of impropriety, and not disobedience.

And Allah alone gives success.

wassalam,

Tabraze Azam

Checked & Approved by Shaykh Faraz Rabbani.

This answer was collected from Seekersguidance.org. It’s an online learning platform overseen by Sheikh Faraz Rabbani. All courses are free. They also have in-person classes in Canada.

Find more answers indexed from: Seekersguidance.org
Read more answers with similar topics:
Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week



We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!