What is the ruling regarding consuming Centrum Multivitamin tablets? Please answer according to the light of the Shari’ah. Also inform me of the ruling regarding Omega 3 Advance Multivitamin.
الجواب حامدا و مصلیا
(1) According to our knowledge, there are two types of multivitamin tablets available. One made with gelatin and one that is gelatin free. That which is gelatin free is Halal and can be consumed. The one that is made with gelatin will only be Halal and permissible for consumption if it is certain that the gelatin used in it was attained from Halal animals. The gelatin attained from Haram animals is not lawful for consumption.
(2) Omega 3 is made from fish, dried fruits and seeds, therefore it is Halal. However, sometimes the capsules in which it is placed is made with gelatin. Therefore, its ruling will be the same as mentioned above. Meaning, if the gelatin was attained from Halal animals after slaughtering them according to the Islamic method of slaughtering, then it will be Halal, otherwise it will not be lawful for consumption.