Home » Hanafi Fiqh » ZamzamAcademy.com » Tablets with Gelatin

Tablets with Gelatin

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by ZamzamAcademy.com

My mum has been ordered to take Calcium Vitamin C tablets prescribed for her for the rest of her life. However, these tablets contain gelatin, but my mum has asked whether this contains animal gelatin and unfortunately she was told that they could not find out whether this contains animal gelatin. Is she permitted to take Calcium Vitamin C tablets?

Answered by: Mufti Abdurrahman ibn Yusuf

Assalamu alaykum

In the name of Allah the Inspirer of truth

Gelatin has been considered haram according to the majority of scholars unless it is from a vegetarian (or halal-slaughtered) source. This unfortunately cannot be determined here. What needs to be done here is that a suitable alternative has to be found. Calcium and vitamin c is probably not a difficult combination to find in caplet form rather than in a capsule.

The doctor can also be consulted along with the pharmacy to find a suitable alternative. The doctor may be able to change the prescription or the pharmacy can substitute the original ones for the non-gelatin type.


Mufti Abdurrahman ibn Yusuf

This answer was collected from the fatwa archive of ZamZam Academy website. Zamzam Academy helps students improve themselves and their communities by helping them learn Islamic Sciences and implementing them practically in their lives.
The Q&A service is supervised by Mufti Abdur Rahman ibn Yusuf.

Read answers with similar topics: