Answered by: Maulana Muqtaur Rahman
Assalamu Alaikum, is Cuttlefish ink halal?
بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم
In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful
Cuttlefish is a sea creature with eight arms and two tentacles that has a wide, flat shell inside its body and lives in waters near the coast and near the bottom of the sea.
It is not permissible to consume cuttlefish (and/or its ink) because the only seafood that is halal according to the Hanafi school of Fiqh, is fish (Samak).
Cuttlefish are not considered as Samak by the overwhelming scholars of the Hanafi Madhab. However, there are a group of scholars who consider it as a fish (Samak) and hence given the permissibility of its consumption.
Therefore, it will be encouraged to abstain from such consumptions which have not only the possibility of being disliked/makrooh but rather the chance of being impermissible/haram.
Only Allah knows best
Written by Maulana Muqtaur Rahman
Checked and approved by Mufti MohammedTosir Miah
Darul Ifta Birmingham